Chelsea have confirmed their squad for the Premier League campaign.

Although the season is already underway and the Blues have picked up seven points from their first three games, the closing of the summer transfer window means that Thomas Tuchel can finalise his first-team squad for the new term.

Premier League teams are permitted to name no more than 17 overseas players in their 25-man squads, with the remaining eight places available to homegrown members.

A “homegrown player” is someone who, irrespective of nationality or age, has been registered with any club affiliated to the Football Association or the Football Association of Wales for a period, continuous or not, of three entire seasons (36 months) before his 21st birthday (or the end of the season during which he turns 21).

Unfortunately for Tuchel, he will be unable to call up Thiago Silva on Saturday when Chelsea welcome Aston Villa.

That is due to all Brazilian players – barring Everton’s Richarlison – who were called up for international duty but did not travel due to it being a red-list country have been banned after FIFA invoked a five-day ruling which prevents them from featuring.

Chelsea will be without Thiago Silva for their next two matches ( Image: Pool via REUTERS)

Chelsea’s full Premier League squad:

1: Kepa Arrizabalaga
2: Antonio Rudiger
3: Marcos Alonso
4: Andreas Christensen
5: Jorginho
6: Thiago Silva
7: N’Golo Kante
8: Mateo Kovacic
9: Romelu Lukaku
10: Christian Pulisic
11: Timo Werner
12: Ruben Loftus-Cheek
13: Marcus Bettinelli
14: Trevoh Chalobah
16: Edouard Mendy
17: Saul Niguez
18: Ross Barkley
19: Mason Mount
20: Callum Hudson-Odoi
21: Ben Chilwell
22: Hakim Ziyech
24: Reece James
28: Cesar Azpilicueta
29: Kai Havertz
31: Malang Sarr
32: Lewis Baker
36: Lucas Bergstrom

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Leave a comment
%d bloggers like this:
scroll to top